Snøhetta, OJB Landscape Architecture, big winners of the National Design Awards 2020


Kicking off a strong lineup of events adjacent to Archtober in New York last night was the announcement by the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum of the winners of the 2020 National Design Awards. Winners of the prestigious annual award were awarded by the museum during a virtual gala hosted by interior designer and television personality Bobby Berk. In addition to marking the debut of the Archtober centered on five boroughs, the gala also launched the Cooper Hewitt’s National Design Month, a previously week-long awards-focused celebration that features free online talks, tours, workshops, and more. The National Design Awards program is now in its 20th year.

The National Design Award 2020 was awarded in nine different categories. This year’s recipients in each category were:

  • Starter (Visionary design)
  • sponge park (Climate Action)
  • studio one eighty nine (Emerging Creator)
  • Snøhetta (Architecture)
  • Scott Dadich (Communication design)
  • Design I/O (Digital design)
  • TELFAR (Fashion drawing)
  • OJB landscape architecture (Landscape Architecture)
  • Catapult design (product design)

“From designing our parks and buildings to transforming creative infrastructure and how we tell our stories, the remarkable work of this year’s winners demonstrates the power of design in everyday life,” said John Davis. , acting director of Cooper Hewitt, in a statement. “The virtual gala welcomed viewers from around the world and launched the first in a series of programs during National Design Month aimed at broadening access to the vision of these leading designers and connecting people of all ages to the importance of design.”

The 2020 National Design Awards judging panel included: Sigi Ahl, Creative Director at Eileen Fisher Waste No More; Angela Brooks, principal at Brooks + Scarpa Architects; Shane Coen, founder of Coen + Partners; Arem Duplessis, Group Creative Director, Apple; Ben Ebel, Experience Design for Michelin North America; Toni L. Griffin, director and founder of Urban American City, and Jae Park, vice president, G Suite UX Design, Google.

Despite the gala’s change in format and the formidable challenges encountered over the past year, this year’s award recipients were no less celebratory in response to being bestowed with this prestigious honour. Winner OJB landscape architecturea landscape architecture and urban planning practice with offices in San Diego, Boston, Houston, Dallas and Philadelphia, released a statement in which founder Jim Burnett said, “I believe the landscape has the power to transform cities and strengthen communities, and that now, more than ever, we have a responsibility to address issues of access, equity and health in our shared public spaces.

“This award from Cooper Hewitt is particularly meaningful because it affirms the power of design, and that’s what it’s all about – an unwavering belief that design can and should change the world,” Burnett added.

Although they did not change the entire world unto itself, notable OJB projects such as Klyde Warren Park in Dallas, Levy Park in Houston, and Chicago’s Park in Lakeshore East have brought about community-beneficial changes and increased connectivity in the respective cities where these visionary landscapes are located .

Similarly, on the park side, sponge park, a stormwater-absorbing green infrastructure work completed in the Gowanus section of Brooklyn in 2016, received the inaugural Climate Action Award. DLANDstudio, an interdisciplinary design firm founded in 2005 by Susannah C. Drake, is the multitasking open public space designer who helped clean up and revive the Gowanus Canal, a notoriously foul urban waterway that has seen a spectacular rebound in recent years.

The granting of the National Design Award in Architecture to Snøhetta marks another major recent achievement for the prolific firm, which has headquarters in Oslo, Norway, and New York. Last month, the company’s design was also selected for the upcoming Theodore Roosevelt Presidential Library in North Dakota.

Learn about the diverse and noteworthy achievements of all the 2020 winners here.


Comments are closed.