Registration open for the 2022 Architecture Writing Competition


The Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects is delighted to announce that the Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing will open on Monday 5th September.

The Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing have been around since 2015 and have since become a unique opportunity for writing and architecture enthusiasts to have their voices heard.

This year’s awards are even more poignant given the recent death of Sir Miles Warren. The Warren Trust was established in 2006 and over the past decade has given away over $1.4 million to promote architectural education to the architectural profession and general public in New Brunswick. Zeeland.

Like last year, this year’s competition will include essay writing, but entries can also be submitted in the form of poetry and fiction, comics, creative non-fiction, and humor.

The topic of writing for this year is simple:
What does architecture represent for you? You can write anything on this topic, as long as it has something to do with architecture.

This may include answering questions such as:

  • What emotions do you feel when you look at, read or discuss architecture?
  • What is your favorite piece of architecture and why?
  • What do you think makes great architecture?
  • Does architecture mean sustainability alongside great design?
  • What role can great architecture play in our growing cities?

Finally, we will publish a book of winning, highly recommended essays for people to collect and share. Essays will be published online and may be syndicated to external media partners, depending on their topic.

Read winning essays from previous years in our Awards section.

Publicize our competition: download the A4 poster (PDF)

The details:

Enter the annual Warren Trust Awards for architectural writing in three categories:

  • Tamariki: up to 13 years old. Write up to 800 words.
  • Rangatahi: 13-18 years old, or currently enrolled in secondary school. Write up to 1000 words.
  • Open: everyone. Write up to 1500 words.

The costs :

  • Winner in the Tamariki category: $500
  • Winner in the Rangatahi category: $1,000
  • Winner in the Open category: $2,000
  • Congratulations (three prizes in all categories): $200 book voucher

Please Note: Other prizes may be awarded at the discretion of the judges.

How to enter

  • Opening of registrations on Monday, September 5, 2022
  • Send your application with your name and the category you enter to [email protected]
  • Tamariki and Rangatahi entries should include the age of the writer and the school you attend.
  • Closing of registrations on Monday, October 12, 2022.

© Scoop Media


Comments are closed.