2021 Toronto Urban Design Awards Winners Announced


Yesterday, members of the design and development community came together virtually to celebrate the winners of the 2021 Toronto Urban Design Awards.

The City of Toronto hosts the Toronto Urban Design Awards every two years to recognize the significant contribution that architects, landscape architects, urban designers, artists, design students and builders make to the city’s appearance and to the livability of the city.

This competition offers the opportunity to receive city-wide recognition for outstanding design projects by an independent jury of urban visionaries, professionals and scholars representing local and international design communities.

This year, the City received an impressive total of 170 submissions in nine categories containing a variety of built projects, visions and master plans, and student works. The jury selected a total of 11 projects for the Excellence Awards, 13 for the Merit Awards and two Special Jury Awards for Inspirational Infrastructure.

Esteemed members of the jury included Michael Leckman (Jury Chair), MRAIC, Principal, Diamond Schmitt; Fadi Masoud, Assistant Professor of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning, Director of the Center for Landscape Research, University of Toronto; Eladia Smoke | KaaSheGaaBaaWeak, March, OAA, OAQ, MAA, MRAIC, LEED AP, Principal Architect, Smoke Architecture Inc; and Jackie VanderVelde, OALA, ALLA, MALA, SALA, APALA, CSLA, ASLA, Founder, Land Art Design Landscape Architecture Inc.

Excellence Award Winner: CF Toronto Eaton Center Bridge

The 2021 winners are:

Category Elements
• Award of Excellence: CF Toronto Eaton Center Bridge, 15 Queen St. W.
• Award of Merit: Thermally Speaking, 250 Fort York Blvd.

Private Buildings in Context – Small Scale Category
• Award of Excellence: Redevelopment of Montcrest School, 658 Broadview Ave.
• Award of Merit: Proper TV, 772 Dovercourt Rd.

Private buildings in context – Mid-rise category
• Awards of Excellence: 80 Atlantic, 80 Atlantic Ave.
• Award of Merit: West Block East. 1928, 500 Lake Shore Blvd. W
• Award of Merit: Kingston&Co Condominiums, 1100 Kingston Rd.

Private buildings in context – Large category
• Award of Excellence: Axis Condos, 411 Church St.
• Award of Merit: The Massey Tower, 197 Yonge St.

Category Public buildings in context
• Award of Excellence: Seneca College – Center for Innovation, Technology and Entrepreneurship, 1750 Finch Ave. E.
• Award of Merit: Ryerson University – Daphne Cockwell Health Sciences Complex, 288 Church St.
• Merit Award: Canoe Landing Community Campus, 45 Fort York Blvd.
• Award of Merit: Guildwood Station, 4105 Kingston Rd.

Category Small open spaces
• Award of Excellence: SQ2 POPS, 80 Vanauley St.
• Award of Excellence: University of Toronto Scarborough Valley Land Accessible Trail, 1265 Military Trail
• Award of Merit: St. James Park-Park Improvements, 120 King St. E.

Category Large Squares and/or Neighborhood Drawings
• Award of Excellence: Centennial College Downsview Campus Center for Aerospace and Aviation, 65 Carl Hall Rd.
• Awards of Merit: Garrison Crossing (Fort York pedestrian and bicycle bridges), 10 Ordnance St.
• Award of Merit: Yonge Sheppard Centre, 4841 Yonge St.

Category Visions and master plans
• Awards of Excellence: Bloor/Kipling & Islington Developments, Bloor Street & Kipling Avenue, Bloor Street & Islington Ave.
• Award of Excellence: The Meadoway, Gatineau Hydroelectric Corridor

Category Student Projects
• Awards of Excellence: Power and Place, Princess Margaret
• Award of Merit: xs spaces: a new walkway urbanism for Toronto, Robinson Place
• Award of Merit: Embodied Energy: Living Lab, Willcocks and Huron Street, University of Toronto St. George Campus

Special Jury Prize in the Inspiring Infrastructure Category
• Storm Water Facility, 480 Lake Shore Blvd. E.
• Emergency Exit Buildings, Toronto York Spadina Subway Extension, EEB1: 2 Whitehorse Rd., EEB2: 18 St. Regis Cr., EEB3: 2 Toro Rd., EEB4 45 The Pond Rd.


Comments are closed.